Tags

, , , ,

 

I need healing, lover

but there’s nothing you can do

I need to heal from you

.

you burned the wood

that I called flesh

you tore the roof off

my protective stead

you ripped old clothes

from body’s wear

then left me naked

.

I need healing, lover

but there’s nothing you can do

I need to heal from you

.

you broke the silence

I hoarded for peace

you crashed denial

I rode to sleep

you locked out fears

knocking at the door

then left me friendless

.

I need healing, lover

but there is nothing you can do

I need to heal from you

.

you kissed with honey

on bitter lips

you caressed the scars

never soft like this

you made me home

as I made you

then left me homeless

.

I need healing, lover

but there is nothing you can do

I need to heal from you

.

.

Β© 2017 Tammy Mezera

.

.

(Reading through posts of those who lost a significant other, I thought about how I would feel losing my partner and wrote this poem. My heart goes out to all those who are grieving)

.

